A top priority for the Science Academy is encouraging the youth to engage in good science, and rewarding the best examples. In order to choose and reward the best young academics and to support them in conducting new studies, an award program has been initiated. Science Academy runs this program not with government funding, but with the support of the society at large.

The award-winning young academics are granted 10,000 TL per year for a period of two years to support them in their research. The objective here is to reward the most brilliant and promising young academics with a prestigious scholarship which will help them further their studies.

YSAP started in the year 2013 with 20 scholarships. The 20 award-winning young scientists were granted their awards at a ceremony held on April 21, 2013 at Boğaziçi University.

As a result of the additional support to YSAP raised in 2014, 43 awards were distributed. In 2014, the supporting individuals and institutions included Vehbi Koç Foundation, İş Bankası, Doğuş Holding, Kenan Şahin, Eczacıbaşı Holding, Faruk Eczacıbaşı, Mehveş Demiren, Renate Pamir, Ahmet Kocabıyık, Nükhet Özmen, Zeynep Hamedi, Burhan Karaçam, Ahmet Oral (SA member) and Şevket Pamuk (SA member).

The award ceremony will be held on March 27, 2014 at the Middle East Technical University campus. For the complete list of the  award winners please click. We wholeheartedly celebrate these young scientists and their professors, and extend our gratitude to those who have contributed to the expansion of the program.