M. Pınar Mengüç receives the 2018 ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award

The Science Academy, Turkey member Prof. Dr. M. Pınar Mengüç, the Head of Mechanical Engineering Department and the Director of the Center for Energy, Environment, and Economy (CEEE), has been honored with the 2018 American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Heat Transfer Memorial Award. This prestigious award is given to him in recognition of his original and lasting research contributions in radiative heat transfer, as well as in the development of diagnostic tools for particle characterization, nanoscale manufacturing techniques, and nanoscale energy transport. Since 1974, the award has been received by faculty members from the world’s leading universities, including Stanford, …

By |31/05/2018|Comments Off on M. Pınar Mengüç receives the 2018 ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award

David Pines (1924 – 2018)

David Pines, Honorary Member of Bilim Akademisi, passed away on 3 May 2018, at the age of 94 years in his home surrounded by loved ones.

He was a distinguished professor of physics, University of California, Davis, research professor of physics and professor emeritus of physics and electrical and computer engineering in the Center for Advanced Study, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC), and a staff member in the office of the Materials, Physics, and Applications Division at the Los Alamos National Laboratory, and was associated with many universities around the world. In Turkey, he was an adjunct professor and one …

By |07/05/2018|Comments Off on David Pines (1924 – 2018)

The Ownership and Protection of Multinational Inventions, ALLEA Statement

The ALLEA Permanent Working Group Intellectual Property Rights (PWGIPR) released a statement titled “The Ownership and Protection of Multinational Inventions – in particular Inventions Resulting from Publicly Funded Research”.

The statement responds to the increase of multinational inventions resulting from international cooperation in research and development and the implications for the legal framework under which those inventions are managed and protected. The expert group calls for adopting more harmonised legal instruments at the European level with respect to the choice of law(s) governing inventorship. This harmonisation is necessary to reduce legal uncertainty and raise efficiency in multinational research and development.

The download …

By |29/03/2018|Comments Off on The Ownership and Protection of Multinational Inventions, ALLEA Statement

Interview with Erol Gelenbe (ACM)

An interview conducted for the website of ACM (Association for Computing Machinery)  with The Science Academy Member Prof. Erol Gelenbe  can be found here.

By |12/02/2018|Comments Off on Interview with Erol Gelenbe (ACM)

BAGEP 2018 Applications Now Open

A top priority for the Science Academy is encouraging the youth to engage in good science, and rewarding the best examples. In order to choose and reward the best young academics and to support them in conducting new studies, an award program was initiated in the year 2013 and its fifth edition was held this year. Science Academy runs this program not with government funding, but with the support of the society at large.

The award-winning young academics are granted 15,000 TL per year for a period of two years to support them in their research. The objective here is to reward …

By |09/12/2017|Comments Off on BAGEP 2018 Applications Now Open

New Members of the Science Academy (December 2017)

The following scientists were elected as Science Academy, Turkey  members at the General Assembly on  2.12.2017.


Takhmasib Aliev  – Physics – Middle East Technical University

Ayşe Çağlar – Anthropology – University of Vienna


Şermin Genç – Biology- Dokuz Eylul University 

Murat Karaçorlu – Ophthalmology – Istanbul Retina Institute

Bülent Mengüç- Business Administration – Kadir Has University 

Aydoğan Özcan – Physical and Wave Electronics – UCLA

Sinan Özeren- Geology – İstanbul Technical University

Altuğ Özpineci- Physics – Middle East Technical University

Necmettin …

By |09/12/2017|Comments Off on New Members of the Science Academy (December 2017)