On behalf of the Fritz Zwicky Foundation in Glarus, Switzerland, the European Astronomical Society (EAS) has introduced the Fritz Zwicky Prize for Astrophysics & Cosmology to honor scientists who have obtained fundamental and outstanding results in these fields.

The Inaugural Fritz Zwicky Prize goes to honorary Bilim Akademisi member Prof. Martin J. Rees (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom) for outstanding contributions to astrophysics and cosmology including seminal papers on active galaxies and black holes, the origin of gamma-ray bursts, the large-scale structure of the universe, and the cosmic microwave background.

Please click for the press release.